Core Consortium

NEWGEN is a public-private consortium between public agencies, universities and private companies that brings world-class breadth and depth of scientific knowledge, technical and industrial expertise to meet DOE goals for the FORGE project.

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

PNNL is recognized by the DOE for its core capability in subsurface science. PNNL expertise includes high-performance computing, high-temperature and pressure geochemistry, materials development and pioneering research in geochemical and geophysical monitoring methods. PNNL has repeatedly demonstrated the ability to manage large, complex consortia and facilities, as well as lead high-risk, first-of-its-kind research.

Oregon State University

Oregon State University has one of the nation’s leading geosciences programs, numerous faculty members focusing on alternative energy and geophysics, as well as extensive facilities for research and development. The university also has a track record of successful large project management for federal agencies.

AltaRock Energy

AltaRock Energy is a full-service geothermal energy company with industry expertise in greenfield development, stimulation technology, and well field management. AltaRock has conducted field research at the Newberry Volcano since 2010, leading to the successful creation of an EGS reservoir in 2014.


Statoil is an international energy company with operations in 37 countries and 22,000 employees worldwide. Building on more than 40 years of experience from oil and gas production on the Norwegian continental shelf, Statoil is committed to responsibly meeting the world's energy needs, applying technology and creating innovative business solutions.

The NEWGEN consortium of partners is a comprehensive team of government, academic and industry leaders in geothermal research and operations.

Extended Consortium

  • Blade Energy Partners, Ltd.
  • Cascade Volcano Observatory (USGS)
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Paulsson, Inc.
  • Stanford University
  • University of Oregon